Align Your Chakras

3,240 post views

A chakra is a sanskrit term that means wheel. There are seven energy wheels or chakras in your body. Each chakra is in a certain position and has a specific function correlated to that location. The goal is to be aware of your chakras in order to open any blockages that may reside from trauma in our lives. Meditation, yoga, and reiki (energy healing) are essential to locate blockages within your energy wheels. The life force energy that flows within us is known as prana in sanskrit. In order for prana to run smoothly through us we must open and align all of our chakras.

Here is a list of each Chakra in english and sanskrit along with its function within the body…

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine. The root is our survival instinct to life and our connection to Earth. To maintain an open root chakra, find stability within your life. You want to feel safe and courageous. The color red depicts the root chakra symbolizing life, vitality, strength, and the physical nature of man.
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) is located in the pelvic region. The sacral represents our creativity and sexuality. To open your sacral chakra embrace your passions, be present within your body, sensuality, creativity, and connect to your feelings. The color orange depicts the sacral chakra symbolizing energy and creativity.
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is located between the navel and solar plexus. The solar plexus is the center of self-esteem, willpower, self-discipline, and warmth within your personality. To open the solar plexus you need to sense your personal power, confidence, responsibility, and reliability. The color yellow depicts the solar plexus symbolizing the mind, intellect, confidence, and self perception.
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata) is located in the center of the chest. The heart chakra is the center all of the chakras, therefore it is the connection to the lower and upper body. The heart chakra resonates with self-love, compassion, kindness, and empathy. To open your heart chakra you need to truly love yourself and connect with your entire being. The color green depicts the heart chakra symbolizing harmony, growth, abundance, and nature.
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) is located within the neck and shoulders. The throat chakra allows you to speak your truth, seek knowledge that is true beyond limitations, and self-expression. To open the throat chakra you must accept your originality and express your authentic self. The color blue depicts the throat symbolizing inspiration, devotion, infinity, and serenity.
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) is locating at the center of the brow region on the forehead. The third eye chakra is known as “the witness” or the eye of both inner and outer worlds. It is your intuition, self reflection, clear thought, and spiritual contemplation. To open your third eye you must access your inner guidance, the voice of reason in your mind, or your conscience. The color indigo depicts the third eye symbolizing spiritual attainment, self-mastery, and wisdom.
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) is located at the crown of the head. The crown chakra is your connection to the universe and the Divine source of creation. To open the crown chakra you must sense the deeper meaning of life and understand that there is an order underlying all of existence. The color violet depicts the crown symbolizing spiritual mastery, transcendent idealism, and love for humanity.

In order to align and open all seven chakras they must all be open and balanced with one another. If one chakra is blocked the rest feel the ripple effect of blockage. Some people live their entire lives opening each chakra to access complete alignment mentally and physically. It is a journey and the ultimate satisfaction of life to be in alignment with yourself. To be able to align the world and spread love with each other we must first start with ourselves.

You may also like

Places to Yoga on Instagram

Check out our latest Instagram photos and make sure to follow us!
Load More