The Yogi’s Diet

7,195 post views

Practicing yoga does not require any sort of special diet, however the traditional yogi diet is lacto-vegetarian (a dairy friendly vegetarian diet, also called lactotarian). The yogi diet includes eating foods such as fruits, vegetables, grains, rice, milk, and ghee (clarified butter).

Yogis have come up with three classifications for foods:

Sattvic – Pure and health promoting
Rajasic – Stimulating, i.e. spicy, sour, or bitter
Tamasic – Impure and not so good for you

Sattvic foods are delicious, pure, and energizing. A lot of serious yogis will stick to primarily sattvic foods as their core diet menu. These foods should be organic, or at least natural and free of preservatives or additives. Some sattvic foods include:

  • Honey
  • Nuts and Seeds
  • Grains
  • Fresh Vegetables
  • Fresh Fruits
  • Peas, Lentils, and Beans
  • Milk, Butter, and Cheese

Rajasic foods which are flavorful and stimulating, include spicy, sour, and pungent items such as:

  • Garlic
  • Curry
  • Meat
  • Eggs
  • Fish
  • Onions
  • Cayenne Peppers
  • Turmeric

Tamsic foods, which are said to be impure and tasteless include:

  • Fast Food
  • Highly Processed Food
  • Junk Foods
  • Salted Foods
  • Pickled Foods
  • Alcoholic Beverages
  • Anything Synthetic

The goal of the yogi diet is to eat from mostly the sattvic group and dabble lightly in the rajasic group. The rajasic group is energy giving, and that can be a positive or a negative, so use it wisely. I hope you found this diet tutorial interesting and useful.

You may also like

Places to Yoga on Instagram

Check out our latest Instagram photos and make sure to follow us!
Load More